Pahang State Assembly dissolves tonight


KUANTAN: Pahang Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob announced the dissolution of the Pahang State Legislative Assembly here tonight.

Adnan said the the Sultan of Pahang Sultan Ahmad Shah signed the letter of consent at 10.55pm when he had an audience with the ruler at  Istana Mahkota here.

The menteri besar entered the palace about 10.50pm before he left about an hour later.

Earlier yesterday, Adnan said all the relevant documents were already handed over to State Legislative Assembly Speaker Datuk Seri Wan Mohamad Razali Wan Mahussin.

"All documentation is complete. We have discussed with the speaker (about Pahang assembly dissolution) who will be informing the Election Commission," he said during a break of the last state executive council meeting at Yayasan Pahang here. 

Adnan, who is state Barisan Nasional chairman, said the list of BN candidates had also been finalised but there could be last minute changes.

He said the seat-swapping issue was already settled and the percentage of new faces in the list was small.

On BN's chances in Pahang this election, he said the coalition would not face much obstacles because of stability and the effectiveness of the state administration.  

"As the caretaker state government, we will still do our best to serve the people twenty-four hours a day," he said.

Pahang has 14 parliamentary and 42 state seats.

In the last general election, Barisan Nasional won 12 parliamentary and 38 state constituencies while Parti Keadilan Rakyat wrested two parliamentary seats and Pas and DAP won two state seats each.

Adnan, who won the Pelangai state seat since 1986, took over the menteri besar post from Tun Mohd Khalil Yaakob in 1999.

Related Articles

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.