Malaysia’s 13th General Election


Penang Pas to vie for 6 state, 2 parliamentary seats

KEPALA BATAS: The Penang PAS has announced that it would vie for six state seats, an addition of one seat, and two parliamentary seats in the 13th general election.


State PAS Youth chief Yusni Md Piah will stand in the additional seat, Sungai Acheh, while five other candidates will contest in their traditional seats, namely Penaga, Permatang Pasir, Permatang Berangan, Sungai Dua and Bayan Lepas. 
Penang PAS Commissioner Datuk Mohd Salleh Man, who announced this tonight, said PAS would also stand in the Kepala Batas and Tasek Gelugor parliamentary seats. 
He said PAS would field Asnan Hamimi Taib Azamuddin in Kepala Batas and businessman Datuk Seri Abdul Rahman Maidin in Tasek Gelugor. 
Mohd Salleh said PAS was confident of garnering support in the Malay-majority seats. 
With PAS joining the fray in Sungai Acheh, the opposition seems to be heading for a clash to garner a sizeable support for Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR) liaison chairman Datuk Mansor Othman had laid claim to the seat yesterday by announcing that its central leadership council member Badrul Hisham Shahrin or better known as Cikgu Bard to vie for the seat. 
Penang has 40 state and 13 parliamentary constituencies. 
Herewith the list of PAS candidates for the state seats: 
1. Sungai Acheh - Yusni Md Piah
2. Penaga - Roshidi Hussin
3. Permatang Berangan - Arshad Mohamad Salleh
4. Sungai Dua - Zahadi Mohamad
5. Permatang Pasir - Datuk Mohd Salleh Man
6. Bayan Lepas - Asnah Hashim -- BERNAMA
Related Articles