Malaysia’s 13th General Election


Perak in tune with young voters

REJUVENATION: 4 ministers, youngest BN candidate to be fielded

IPOH: FOUR  federal ministers, five deputy ministers and the youngest Barisan Nasional candidate in the country will feature in Perak's line-up.

In unveiling the names yesterday, state BN chief Datuk Seri Dr Zambry Kadir said Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz, Second Finance Minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Husni Hanazlah, Defence Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Transport Minister Datuk Seri Kong Cho Ha would also be re-contesting the Padang Rengas, Tambun, Bagan Datoh and Lumut parliamentary seats respectively.

Five deputy ministers, namely Deputy Plantation Industries and Commodities Minister Datuk Hamzah Zainuddin, Deputy Federal Territories and Urban Wellbeing Minister Datuk M. Saravanan

, Deputy Home Minister Datuk Lee Chee Leong, Deputy Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism Minister Datuk Tan Lian Hoe and Deputy Minister in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk S.K. Devamany would also be fielded in parliamentary seats in the state.

Hamzah, Saravanan and Lee would contest the Larut, Tapah and Kampar seats while Tan and Devamany would be fielded in the Taiping and Sungai Siput seats respectively.

Tan was the former member of parliament for Grik, while Devamany was the parliamentarian for Cameron Highlands.

Zambry, who said he would be contesting the Pangkor state seat, said PPP president Datuk Seri M. Kaveas would be fielded in the Pasir Berdamar state seat. The biggest casualty was state Infrastructure, Public Amenities, Energy and Water Committee chairman Datuk Ramly Zahari.

Zambry also introduced Daniel Wa Wai How, 25, the youngest BN candidate in the country. He would be fielded in the Keranji state seat under the Kampar parliamentary constituency.

All in, Zambry said Perak BN would field 40 new faces for state seats and five for parliamentary seats.

There were 12 young candidates fielded in Perak -- 11 for state seats and one for parliamentary seat -- to represent youth.

Zambry said 10 women would be fielded -- eight for state seats and two for parliamentary seats.

"The new and young faces are introduced as part of Perak BN's rejuvenation process... in line with the aspiration of young voters," he said before making the announcement which was met by loud cheers from supporters.

The candidates were later presented with their letters of credential (watikah) and signed the BN's Aku Janji. All, except Ahmad Zahid and Kong, who were in Kuala Terengganu and Kuala Lumpur respectively, were present.

Zambry thanked all former elected representatives who made way for the new faces.

"Your contributions and sacrifices will be remembered, and it will be an inspiration for Perak BN as we go down to the battle field this election."

Zambry said that he would ensure that "history does not repeat itself", in reference to the constitutional crisis that saw Perak BN falling into the hands of the opposition in the 2008 general election after several BN leaders jumped ship.

BN will be contesting 24 parliamentary seats and 59 state seats. Of the total number of state seats, Umno will contest 36 seats, MCA (15), MIC (three), Gerakan (four) and PPP (one).

In the 2008 general election, Umno contested 34 state seats, MCA (16), MIC (four) while Gerakan and PPP remained unchanged.


Related Articles