Blockbuster awards need your vote


There will be 15 awards for the second Anugerah Blockbuster and the public can cast their votes now, writes Bibi Nurshuhada Ramli

AWARDS ceremony Anugerah Blockbuster, which celebrates the people’s choice in the film industry, is back on June 15.

The event recognises the talents behind 49 local films screened from Jan 1 to Dec 31 last year. The winners are based on public voting.

At a Press conference recently, Malaysian Film Producers’ Association (PFM) vice chairman Datuk Yusof Haslam said that an effort like this is much needed to help elevate the local film industry.

“We hope Anugerah Blockbuster will continue in years to come as this will encourage directors to work harder and make quality films,” he said.

He urged industry players to give their cooperation and commitment. “This will not be the success of a selected few only, but a shared victory among those in the field,” he said.

Astro vice-president for Malay language business Khairul Anwar Salleh, said the awards will also raise the profiles of local talents who have the potential to put the country on the international stage.

Last year, some producers didn’t even turn up despite being nominated. “It was as if they didn’t care at all. Maybe it was because it was the first time we held the event, so there might have been a lack of awareness,” said Yusof.
This year, he said, the organisers will work harder to promote Anugerah Blockbuster which will be held at Majlis Bandaraya Johor Baru.

Last year, the event was held at Stadium Malawati in Shah Alam. On whether the change of venue will affect the number of attendees, Khairul said it shouldn’t be a problem.

“Astro held a recording of Maharaja Lawak there last year and the turnout was great. We want people living outside Klang Valley to be part of our events too,” he added.

Promotions for the 2nd Anugerah Blockbuster will be two — pronged — on-air on Astro and through the media.

Khairul said: “We want to remind everyone that Anugerah Blockbuster isn’t just about giving awards. It will also be a night of celebration, filled with performances.”

PFM chief executive officer Panchacharam P. Nalliah explained that last year, the decision to hold Anugerah Blockbuster came late, resulting in the event taking place in October.

“We shouldn’t delay the 2nd Anugerah Blockbuster because this is for films released last year. We hope that in future, Anugerah Blockbuster will be held earlier,” he added.

It was PFM secretary-general Norman Abdul Halim’s idea to hold Anugerah Blockbuster. He said: “Besides competitions that are based on professional jury evaluations, we also need one that is based on popularity. Viewers today can judge for themselves.”

There are 15 awards to be given out in the 2nd Anugerah Blockbuster — Best Film, Best Director, Best New Director, Best Action Film, Best Comedy Film, Best Horror Film and Best Musical Drama Film as well as Best Hero, Best Heroine, Best New Hero, Best New Heroine, Best Villain and Best Theme Song.

The public can vote by filling in an official form available in newspapers or online via the official website,

Those who vote using official forms can only choose one winner per category. You can send in as many forms as you want but it has to be an original form. No photocopies will be accepted.

For online votes, only one vote per category is allowed per day. The accumulated number of online votes will be shown on the website throughout the voting period.

For each category, 10 nominees have been selected from 49 films. The first stage of voting starts now till noon on May 10.

Meanwhile, a Special PFM Award will be given in recognition of the contribution of an individual or a group to the industry. The recipient will be decided by a jury panel appointed by PFM.

The winner for the Best Astro First Award will be determined based on the most subscribed local movie on Astro First last year.

“We had considered the feedback on the event last year and made improvements accordingly,” said Norman, adding that Anugerah Blockbuster is a very informal and laidback award ceremony, similar to People’s Choice Awards in the US.

He said: “We want that kind of atmosphere. The award categories are also non-technical.”

Also at the Press conference were Finas deputy director general Fatimah Ahmad, producer Nancie Foo and Astro entertainment channel group director Azlin Reza Azmi.

Hantu Bonceng won Best Comedy film last year.

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.