Vote for your Meletop favourites


ARTISTES Datuk AC Mizal, Nabil Ahmad, and Noor Neelofa Mohd Noor will host Anugerah Meletop Era on Feb 8. The inaugural event is a collaboration between TV programme Meletop (aired on Astro Ria) and radio station Era. It recognises local talents and entertainment programmes in various platforms including music, radio, television, film, and digital.

In Anugerah Meletop Era, there will be no professional jury. Fans will decide the winners in each of the 16 categories.

The categories are Meletop song, Meletop singer, Meletop group/duo, Meletop radio programme, Meletop radio presenter, Meletop film, Meletop film star, Meletop TV programme, Meletop TV star, Meletop cyber star, Meletopcouple, Meletop promising artiste, Meletop fashion, Meletop neighbouring artiste, Top Top Meletop male and Top Top Meletop female.

Top names competing include Hafiz Suip, Datuk Siti Nurhaliza, Anuar Zain, Malique, Black, Zizan Razak, Forteen, Aizat Amdan, Najwa Latif, Yuna, Altimet, Sixth Sense and Bunkface.


“Meletop is fast becoming a household programme, not only to youngsters but to viewers of all ages. It is time to take the programme to another level by organising an awards ceremony,” says Neelofa, who co-hosts the programme with Nabil.

“The three of us will come on stage together to host the opening and closing of the awards ceremony. In between that we will have different segments. We will come out in pairs. Sometimes, I will be with Nabil, and at other times, I will be with AC.”

The first phase of voting to shortlist the nominees is open to the public from now until Jan 10. Only the top five out of 20 names will be selected in each category.

In the second phase, fans can vote to choose the winner from the five selected nominees through the official website or SMS beginning Jan 16 to Feb 8. For the last two categories — Top Top Meletop male and Top Top meletop female — nominees with the highest number of votes regardless of category will win.

The award ceremony will be aired live on Astro Ria (Ch 104), Maya HD (Ch 135) and Astro Hitz (Ch 705). The time and venue will be announced later.

“Anugerah Meletop Era will honour personalities and recognise entertainment works that are most happening in 2013,” said Putri Yasmin Megat Zaharuddin, vice president of Astro’s GenNext Business at a recent Press conference in Kuala Lumpur. 

(From left) Era FM brand manager Nazri Nolan, Nabil, Neelofa, AC Mizal and Puteri Yasmin at the Press conference.

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.