Malaysia’s 13th General Election


Confirmed, Malacca to get new CM

POTENTIAL CONTENDER: Idris Haron tipped for the post

MALACCA: SPECULATION that the state will get a new chief minister was confirmed yesterday when State Barisan Nasional chairman Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam was named to contest the Bukit Katil parliamentary constituency.

The move has also re-ignited another strong speculation in the Historical City as former Tangga Batu member of parliament, Datuk Idris Haron, will now vie for the Sungai Udang state seat, thus placing him as a potential contender for the chief minister's post.

In unveiling the list of candidates for BN Malacca, Mohd Ali announced the candidates included 14 new faces -- three for parliamentary seats and nine for state seats.

"Most of the new faces are in their 30s. In the 2008 general election, the support from the younger generation for BN was strong and with this new-line up of mainly young candidates, we are hoping the support will be further enhanced.

"I believe the candidates selected by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak are the best currently available in Malacca," he said after handing out the watikah to the state BN candidates at the chief minister's official residence in Seri Bendahara, here, yesterday.

Malacca has six parliamentary and 28 state seats. Umno will vie for four parliamentary and 18 state seats, MCA two parliamentary and seven state seats while MIC, Gerakan, MIC and PPP have one state seat each.

PPP would also field its candidate in Malacca for the first time with state PPP chairman Datuk Chiw Tiang Chai contesting the Kota Laksamana seat.

The nine immediate past incumbents not contesting included Deputy Home Minister Datuk Abu Seman Yusop, who was four-term Member of Parliament (MP) for Masjid Tanah, Alor Gajah MP, Tan Sri Dr Fong Chan Onn and Bukit Katil MP, Datuk Md Sirat Abu.

As for the state leaders not contesting were former state executive councillors, namely Datuk R. Perumal (Asahan), Datuk Seet Har Cheow (Klebang), and Datuk Yaakub Md Amin (Sungai Udang).

Malacca Puteri Umno chief Mas Ermieyati Samsudin (centre) with Puteri Umno members after being selected to contest the Masjid Tanah seat in the 13th General Election at Seri Bendahara, Malacca, yesterday. Pic by Muhammad Hatim Ab Manan


Related Articles