Hot Topics: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

'Newspapers must continue to excite readers'


KUALA LUMPUR: Newspapers, the oldest and most widely used media platform, must be constantly refreshed to remain relevant in the current media landscape.

The New Straits Times Press (M) Berhad chief executive officer Mohammad Azlan Abdullah said a newspaper could be a lucrative customer product and required industry players to recognise the behaviour, trend and preferences of the readers to be successful.

"As part of the news publishing industry, we are facing our greatest challenge to maintain the progression of our industry.

"As some would say, a challenge to the very survival of the newspaper itself," said Azlan at the opening of the Asean Newspaper Printers Delegates Conference 2012, here, yesterday.

He said the world today had embraced mobile and communications technology with open arms and, thus, presented traditional media with greater expectations and challenges.

"It is no longer enough to provide 'satisfaction'. We are expected to continuously 'excite and delight our customers'."

In line with this trend, the NSTP has moved forward with the digital publishing of the New Straits Times, Berita Harian and Harian Metro to increase readership among online readers.

The annual conference gathered 10 representatives from international newspaper printers across Asean countries to discuss, share and exchange information and ideas on the future of newspaper printing industry.

The New Straits Times Press (M) Berhad chief executive officer Mohammad Azlan Abdullah opening the Asean Newspaper Printers Delegates Conference 2012 yesterday. With him is Asean Newspaper Printers chairman Anthony Cheng. Pic by Nurul Shafina Jemenon

Related Articles

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.