Hot Topics: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

Robotic football 'World Cup' kicks off


SHAH ALAM: The 18th Federation of International Robot-Soccer Association (Fira) Roboworld Cup and Congress, which kicked off on Monday, saw the participation of 80 teams from 11 countries.

Apart from creating a platform to promote robotics among students, the competition hosted by Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah Polytechnic is seen as a stepping stone in realising Deputy Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin's aspiration of turning polytechnics into premier institutions of higher learning.

The 18th Fira Roboworld Cup and Congress Kuala Lumpur is divided into two segments. The international Fira congress and a robotics competition involving five categories: Micro-Robot Soccer Tournament, Amire, Naro, Simulated Robot, Android, Robo and Humanoid Robot.

In conjunction with Fira, the polytechnic organised an industrial day with the Malaysian Society of Engineering and Technology to promote robotics in the country.

Industrial day implementation committee chairman Prof Dr Ishkandar Baharin said the robotics workshops and exhibition, with booths from Malaysia and South Korea, would expose students and visitors to the latest in educational robotics.

The first Fira Cup was in 1996 and offers a challenging arena to the younger generation and researchers working with autonomous mobile robotic systems.

This year, it attracted teams from Singapore, Indonesia, Taiwan, India, China, South Korea, the United Kingdom, Mexico, Canada, Russia and Malaysia.

Participants checking their robot at the 18th Federation of International Robot-Soccer Association Roboworld Cup and Congress yesterday. Pic by Intan Nur Elliana Zakaria

Related Articles

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.