Hot Topics: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

'Special Security Area will stop intruders'


ALOR GAJAH: Security forces to be based in the Special Security Area (SSA) from Kudat to Tawau "will not leave even a single spot to prevent any attempt by intruders from entering the state", said Deputy Home Minister Datuk Abu Seman Yusop.

The move, which entailed detailed monitoring along the shores of the east coast of Sabah, would safeguard the country's sovereignty, he said.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Razak had announced the setting up of the SSA and the deployment of five battalions of the armed forces and police to protect the area.

"The security forces and police will cover both sea and land in the SSA, including Sandakan, Kunak, Semporna and Lahad Datu, and this will prevent any intruders, especially militants, from entering the country.

"We are committed to ensuring the safety of the people in Sabah and to make any attempts to sneak into the state impossible.

"I hope this move would boost the confidence of Sabahans towards the Federal Government and the state government," Abu Seman, who is also Alor Gajah member of parliament, said after launching a "Jom Gegau! Karnival Mesra Komuniti" at the Masjid Tanah Community College here yesterday.

The SSA, covering a stretch of 1,400km of coastal area in the east coast of Sabah, will see the stationing of security forces at strategic locations to protect the coastal areas from Kudat to Tawau, which are home to more than 1.4 million people.

Malaysian security forces on Saturday discovered this stretch of beach which is believed to be the landing area for the Sulu terrorists. Pic courtesy of Ministry of Defence

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.