Hot Topics: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

Surprises in store in Pahang exco line-up


COMEBACKS: Former councillors may be reappointed

KUANTAN: SOME surprises are in store for the state executive council line-up, especially with the announcement of the new federal cabinet members yesterday.

Apart from new faces, the state exco line-up could also include former members, including those who had served before the 2008 general election.

Sources said Muadzam Shah state assemblyman Datuk Maznah Mazlan, who was appointed senator to enable her to assume her role as deputy human resources minister after the 12th general election, may get her exco post back.

Other former exco members who may be roped in again include Datuk Shahiruddin Abdul Moin (Dong) and Datuk Dr Ahmad Shukri Ismail (Pulau Tawar).

There is also a possibility that a former exco member from MCA, Datuk Foong Koong Fue (Cheka), will be re-appointed if the Sultan of Pahang Sultan Ahmad Shah insists that the Chinese community must be represented in the council.

Of the 10 previous exco members, five were fielded again and won their state seats, while another two were dropped from the candidates list. One died before the 13th General Election.

Two other former exco members -- Datuk Hoh Khai Mun and Datuk Wan Adnan Wan Mamat -- contested the Raub and Indera Mahkota parliamentary seats but lost.

The five candidates who retained their seats were Foong, Datuk Mohd Soffi Abd Razak (Benta), Datuk Mohd Sharkar Shamsudin (Lanchang), Datuk Shafik Fauzan Sharif (Inderapura) and Datuk Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail (Jelai).

Those who did not contest in the general election were Datuk Ishak Muhamad and Datuk Mohd Sahfri Ab Aziz, while Datuk Tan Mohd Aminuddin Ishak died on June 19 last year.

Sources said former exco members who won their seats would be retained, with Soffi to remain as state housing, public amenities and transport committee chairman while Rosdy would be retained as the rural development and Orang Asli affairs committee chairman.

Sharkar and Shafik could hold different portfolios as Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob might reshuffle the line-up to accommodate newcomers.

Among the favourite candidates in the new line-up are former senior private secretary to the finance minister Datuk Sh Mohmed Puzi Sh Ali (Peramu Jaya), Datuk Johari Hussain (Tioman), Syed Ibrahim Syed Ahmad (Kerdau), Datuk Shahaniza Shamsuddin (Kuala Sentul) and Nor Hidayah Muhamad Shahaimi (Luit).

Either Johari or Syed Ibrahim will be appointed chairman for the religious committee, as both of them are religious graduates, while Mohmed Puzi may lead the entrepreneur development and cooperatives committee due to his experience in the Finance Ministry.

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.