Najib returned unopposed


TOUGH FIGHTS: Nine out of 14 divisions in Pahang to see contests for top post

UMNO president Datuk Seri Najib  Razak retained his Pekan Umno division head post, which he has held since 1982, at the close of nominations for the party election next month.

Najib's nomination form for the post of Pekan Umno division head was handed in by his representative, Pekan Umno division secretary Datuk Zainal Abidin Pa'wan, at the Pekan Umno Building here at 10am yesterday.

It was handed over to Pahang Umno special election committee chairman Datuk Seri Abdul Jabbar Ibrahim.

Nine of the 14 Umno divisions will see a contest for the top post. Apart from Najib, the other division heads who were returned unopposed were Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob (Bentong), Datuk Seri Dr Jamaluddin Jarjis (Rompin), Datuk Mohd Sharkar Shamsudin (Temerloh) and Datuk Abdul Rahman Mohamad (Lipis).

The toughest fight will be at Indera Mahkota with six candidates trying their luck to unseat the incumbent Datuk Mohd Hazmi Yusof. Hazmi's challengers are the division vice-chief Mahasan Hussain, State Umno liaison committee secretary Datuk Abdul Rahim Abas, state Barisan Nasional treasurer Ngah Ismail, Indera Mahkota Umno Veterans chairman Shahrum Zainuddin, Indera Mahkota Putra branch chief Datuk Mustapha Kamal Abdul Hamid and Indera Mahkota 1 branch chief Abdullah Syukur.

For the record, PKR retained the Indera Mahkota and Kuantan parliamentary seats while Temerloh and Raub were wrested by Pas and DAP respectively in the 13th General Election.

Maran will also see a tough fight as Deputy Human Resources Minister Datuk Ismail Abd Mutalib, who has been acting as division chief following the death Datuk Tan Mohd Aminuddin Ishak on June 19 last year, will be challenged by former Maran member of parliament Datuk Muhammad Abdullah and Maran Umno committee member Ismail Mat Resat.

Kuantan will see a three-cornered fight when incumbent Datuk Wan Adnan Wan Mamat battles divisional committee member Abd Mutalib Shamsuddin and Kuantan Town Centre Umno branch chief Bahuri Geran.

The Bera, Paya Besar, Jerantut, Raub, Cameron Highlands and Kuala Krau divisions will see straight fights.

In Bera, Agriculture and Agro-based Industry Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob who is the incumbent will be challenged by its Umno Youth chief Datuk Mohd Azizan Che Omar while Paya Besar Umno chief Datuk Ahmad Tajuddin Sulaiman will be challenged for the second time by Paya Besar member of parliament Datuk Abdul Manan Ismail.

In Jerantut, incumbent Tan Sri Tengku Azlan Shah Sultan Abu Bakar will contest against the newly-elected Jerantut MP and division information chief Ahmad Nazlan Idris.

State Entrepreneur Development Committee chairman Datuk Shahiruddin Ab Moin should have no problems retaining the Raub division chief post against Semantan Ulu branch chief Datuk Mohd Ghazali Kamaruzaman while state Housing Committee chairman Datuk Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail is expected to thwart off the challenge from former divisional Youth chief Wan Rohaimi Wan Mustafa in the Cameron Highlands division.

In Kuala Krau, the incumbent Datuk Ismail Mohd Said will be challenged by division Umno Youth committee member Nik Effendy Nik Rashid.

Pekan Umno division secretary Datuk Zainal Abidin Pa’wan (left) submitting Datuk Seri Najib Razak’s nomination form to Pahang Umno special election committee chairman Datuk Seri Abdul Jabbar Ibrahim in Pekan.

Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.