Hot Topics: Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

YACHTING: Johor gets into the act


NOW, it is the turn of the Johor Yachting Association (JYA) to wade into the Monsoon Cup scene.

The JYA will organise a round of the Malaysian Match Racing Circuit (MMRC) in Tanjong Leman, Mersing.

Local match racers vying for the sole ticket, as Malaysia's representative, to this year's Monsoon Cup will have another race to compete in.

The Johor leg, which will be the third leg of the MMRC, will be held on Sept 28-30.

The MMRC final leg will take place in Pulau Duyong, Terengganu on Nov 28-30 with the top six teams contending for RM15,000 in prize money.

The MMRC kicked off in May at the Royal Malaysian Naval Base, Lumut on May 11-13, followed by Marina Jabatan Laut, Pulau Indah, Klang, on June 29 June-July 1. Jeremy Koo of KFC Malaysia-KRT) won both events.

Jeremy is now one win away from qualifying as the national champion, for the Monsoon Cup.

"We are in top form at this stage, having won the last two events. However, it becomes more challenging as we move from one venue to the other," said Jeremy.

"This event will be raced in the Foundation 36 yachts, which are the same boats used in the Monsoon Cup."

Director of T-Best Events and MYA vice president Datuk Wan Hisham Wan Salleh said: "The MMRC is the answer to the future of sailing in Malaysia as it is the next step in developing the progress of young sailors who are forced to retire early due to the lack of keelboat events.

"It is also the answer to the vision of the Ministry of Youth and Sports to industrialise the sport of sailing and create our own local team of match racing officers and umpires." By Zainuddin Muhammad




Leave Your Comment

Leave Your Comment:

New Straits Times reserves the right not to publish offensive or abusive comments and those of hate speech, harassment, commercial promos and invasion of privacy. Your IP will be logged and may be used to prevent further submission.The views expressed here are that of the members of the public and unless specifically stated are not those of NST.