Trains will not stop at 27 MRT, LRT, Monorail and KTM stations from 7am-3pm tomorrow

KUALA LUMPUR: Operations at 27 rail stations within the Dang Wangi area will be suspended from 7am till 3pm tomorrow to curb demonstrations in Dataran Merdeka, Sogo and Masjid Jamek.

This follows police advice for Mass Rapid Transit (MRT), Light Rail Transit (LRT), Monorail and Keretapi Tanah Melayu Bhd train stations to be temporarily closed.

This includes 24 MRT, LRT and Monorail stations under MyRapid KL.

"Trains will not stop at the stations as police had advised for the stations to be temporarily closed in the interest of public safety," the operator said in a statement today.

The stations involved from the LRT Kelana Jaya line are Kampung Baru, Dang Wangi, Masjid Jamek and Pasar Seni.

The stations involved from the LRT Ampang-Sri Petaling line are Pudu, Hang Tuah, Plaza Rakyat, Masjid Jamek, Bandaraya and Sultan Ismail.

The affected stations along the MRT Sungai Buloh-Kajang line are Bukit Bintang, Merdeka and Pasar Seni stations will be affected.

Meanwhile, all 11 stations along the KL Monorail line will be shut down.

"All the other stations will be operating as usual. However please plan your journey accordingly," MyRapid KL said.

The other three stations in the city centre that are affected are the Kuala Lumpur, Bank Negara and Putra stops under KTM.

MyRapid KL also said its concession counters at Pasar Seni would also be closed.

Police have obtained a seven-day court order to prohibit demonstrations in the heart of the city.

This follows plans for a demonstration tomorrow to demand action against Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission chief commissioner Tan Sri Azam Baki over allegations that he had accrued corporate shares between 2015 and 2016, while he was the MACC director of investigation.

Earlier, Dang Wangi police chief Assistant Commissioner Noor Dellhan Yahaya said the order was granted by the magistrate's court on Jan 20.

He said police had not received any information or communication from the organisers.

"I would like to remind the public that we are still under Phase 4 of the National Recovery Plan.

"Such assemblies are in violation of Rule 9 (Prohibition of Processions) and Rule 10 (control of gatherings) of the Prevention and Control of Infectious Diseases Regulations," he told reporters.

Noor Dellhan also said traffic along six major roads within Dang Wangi would be diverted from 7am tomorrow until the end of the gathering.

The roads involved are Jalan Kuching, Jalan Kinabalu, Jalan Maharajalela, Jalan Hang Tuah, Jalan Imbi and Jalan Sultan Ismail.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories