Umno's Razali Ibrahim expected to contest in Pagoh

KUALA LUMPUR: Former Muar member of Parliament Datuk Seri Razali Ibrahim is expected to contest the Pagoh parliamentary seat in the 15th General Election (GE15), a source close to the party told a news portal.

Razali is expected to go up against Perikatan Nasional (PN) chief Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin, who was the Pagoh MP from 1978 to 1986 and from 1995 to 2022.

Razali, an Umno Supreme Council member, will also be up against Pakatan Harapan's (PH) Iskandar Shah Abdul Rahman for the seat.

Last Friday, PH chairman Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim announced that PKR's Iskandar would be the coalition's candidate for Pagoh.

Barisan Nasional (BN) and PN are expected to announce their candidates tonight.

Razali was the Muar MP for three terms from 2004 to 2018. In the last general election, he contested in the seat but lost to Syed Saddiq Syed Abdul Rahman, who was then with Bersatu, by a 6,953-vote majority.

Muhyiddin won the Pagoh parliamentary seat in GE14 with a 6,927-vote majority against BN's Ismail Mohamed.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories