GE15: Five eye Gombak seat

GOMBAK: The battle for the Gombak parliamentary seat will see a five-cornered fight.

Incumbent Datuk Seri Mohamed Azmin Ali from Perikatan Nasional (PN) will be challenged by four contestants, including his former party mate, at the constituency where he is seeking re-election for the fourth term.

He will be facing Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari of Pakatan Harapan (PH), Datuk Dr Aziz Jamaludin Mhd Tahir (Pejuang), Zulkifli Ahmad who is standing as an Independent and Datuk Megat Zulkarnain Omardin (Barisan Nasional).

Amirudin is Azmin's former party member in PKR and is the current Selangor Menteri Besar.

Returning Officer Nor Azlina Abdul Aziz announced the names of all contestants at 10.48am.

In the last general election, Azmin garnered 75,113 votes for the seat on PKR ticket against Datuk Abdul Rahim Kamarudin from BN and Khairil Nizam from Pas.

He secured a majority of 48,721.

However, in March 2020, he infamously led 10 MPs from PKR to defect to Bersatu, in what has come to be known as the Sheraton Move.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories