New Pahang unity govt exco line-up to be sworn in tomorrow

KUANTAN: The new Pahang executive council members will be sworn in at Istana Abu Bakar in Pekan tomorrow.

The presentation of the appointment letters and oath-taking ceremony will be held at 2.30pm.

Their appointment comes four days after Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Wan Rosdy Wan Ismail was sworn in to lead a new pact between Barisan Nasional (BN) and Pakatan Harapan (PH) on Nov 28.

BN has 16 elected representatives while PH has eight, with six from DAP and two from PKR.

It is learnt that PH has been assured of two spots in the 10-member state exco line-up and were in the midst of finalising talks on securing a possible third.

BN is expected to name at least five new faces in their state exco line-up replacing five former office bearers who had either gone to contest in parliamentary seats during the 15th General Election (GE15), or were dropped from the candidate list or lost during the polls.

BN's candidate for the Tioman state election, Datuk Seri Mohd Johari Hussain, had in the last term served as the state exco in charge of youth and sports. The three-term assemblyman will only know his fate when the election is held on Dec 7.

This is following the death of Tioman's Perikatan Nasional candidate Md Yunus Ramli due to a heart attack on Nov 19.

The Regent of Pahang, Tengku Hassanal Ibrahim Alam Shah Al-Sultan Abdullah, approved the formation of the Pahang government by BN and PH on Nov 27 before Wan Rosdy was sworn in the following day.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories