7 Bersatu rebels' memberships automatically ceased, says party vice-president

KUALA LUMPUR: The memberships of the seven Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) elected representatives, who declared their support for the unity government under Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's leadership, have automatically ceased.

This, according to Bersatu vice-president Datuk Seri Dr. Ronald Kiandee, is because the six MPs and one assemblyman failed to adhere to the party's directive.

"According to Clause 10.4 of the party's constitution, disobedience to any directive issued by the party will result in the immediate cessation of membership in the party.

"(And) according to the anti-hopping law, the seats are to be vacated. Therefore, we will send a notice to Dewan Rakyat Speaker (Tan Sri Johari Abdul) to notify on the violation of the act and the vacancy (of the seats).

"The speaker then has 21 days to decide on the status of the seats (held by the six MPs)," he told the New Straits Times.

Kiandee was responding to a question on the fate of six Bersatu MPs and an assemblyman after the 14-day period since the directive letter was issued on May 18, ended on Friday (May 31).

He, however, did not have details on when the party will submit the notice to the speaker as it is under Bersatu secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin's prerogative.

Article 49A of the Federal Constitution, commonly known as the anti-hopping law, states that an MP's seat will be vacated in one of the three situations; if he resigns from his party, ceases to me a member of the party, or joins another political party.

Yesterday, Bersatu president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin said 25 MPs and 58 state assemblymen from Bersatu had already signed letters affirming their allegiance to the party. (Link: https://www.nst.com.my/news/politics/2024/06/1058168/25-mps-and-58-assem...)

There are 31 Bersatu MPs and 60 assemblymen. That meant the only ones who failed to adhere to the special directive of the supreme council letters were the six MPs who had previously declared support for Anwar.

The six MPs are Bukit Gantang's Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal; Zahari Kechik (Jeli); Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang); Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan) and Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanafi (Tanjong Karang).

One assemblyman who has declared support for Selangor Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Amiruddin Shaari is Selat Klang's Datuk Abdul Rashid Asari.

As of 4pm, no official statement has been issued by Bersatu or its secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainuddin on the matter.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories