Kelantan declares Nenggiri seat as vacant

KOTA BARU: The Kelantan state assembly today declared the Nenggiri state seat vacant, paving the way for a possible by-election in Kelantan.

Speaker Datuk Mohd Amar Nik Abdullah said that the seat was declared vacant effective today, following a notification of Azizi's termination received on June 13.

Following the revocation of Azizi's membership, Amar said the state assembly decided to vacate the seat effective today in accordance with Phase Three of Article 31(A) of the state constitution.

"The state assembly on June 13 received a written notice from a Kelantan Bersatu member about Mohd Azizi Abu Naim losing his Bersatu membership, leading to the unexpected vacancy of the N43 seat.

"I would like to announce today that the state assembly has been notified that Bersatu N43 assemblyman Mohd Azizi Abu Naim's membership in the party has been revoked.

"Following this, the state assembly has declared the seat vacant and will submit this notice to the state Election Commission today," he told a press conference at his office here today.

He added that according to Article 31(A)(4) of the state constitution, the unexpectedly vacant seat needs to be filled within 60 days from the day the Election Commission receives the notice.

On June 12, Bersatu secretary-general Datuk Seri Hamzah Zainudin said the party had revoked the memberships of six elected representatives.

Hamzah said the party issued notices to the six members, initiating their expulsion without delay.

He said pursuant to the directive issued by Bersatu's Supreme Council, which convened on June 7, 2024, and after informing the Perikatan Nasional leadership council, which convened on June 11, immediate notices were given to the six elected representatives who had violated Clause 10.4 of the Bersatu constitution.

Hamzah said the process was in line with the foundation of the party constitution and the country's laws under Article 49(A) of the Federal Constitution and/or under the related state government laws.

Last year, six Bersatu MPs 'went rogue'. They are Gua Musang MP Mohd Azizi Abu Naim, Labuan MP Datuk Dr Suhaili Abdul Rahman, Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar), Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal (Bukit Gantang), and Datuk Dr Zulkafperi Hanapi (Tanjong Karang).

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories