Trio take sprint silver without Azizul

DESPITE the absence of Azizulhasni Awang, Fadhil Zonis and brothers Shah Firdaus and Ridwan Sahrom did well to claim the men's team sprint silver at the Asian Track Cycling Championships in New Delhi yesterday.

The trio, who clocked 44.363s, finished second to Japan's Yuta Obara, Kaiya Ota and Yoshitaku Nagasako (43.769s) in the final at the Indira Gandhi Sports Complex Velodrome.

It was a commendable achievement as the last time Malaysia won silver in the team sprint was in 2013.

India (44.627s) took the bronze after edging South Korea (45.222s) in the third-place decider.

In the junior category, Malaysia, comprising Umar Hasbullah, Akmal Nazimi Jusena and Zulfahmi Aiman Zulkarnain, claimed the team sprint bronze.

The trio clocked 47.162s to finish ahead of India's Luv Kumar Yadav, Warishdeep Singh and Sampath Pasamel (47.982s).

Korea (45.265s) won the gold by overcoming Kazakhstan (47.288s) in the final.

Lim Chun Kiat, meanwhile, came close to becoming the first ever Malaysian to win a medal in the men's individual pursuit at the Asian meet.

The Sabah-born, however, settled for fourth after getting caught by India's Vishwajit Singh on the 12th lap in the bronze decider.

Japan's Shoi Matsuda defeated Korea's Park Sanghoon in the final.

Chun Kiat's coach Louis Pang was still proud of his charge's performance.

"I am proud of this achievement," said Louis.

"Of course, there are areas we can improve on as he is still young. Considering he is not in the national programme, I am happy. We gave it our best shot."

Chun Kiat earned an Asian meet ticket after winning his event in last month's National Championships title in Nilai.

The men's 1km time trial and women's individual sprint events will be held today.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories