TSC riders storm to 1-2 finish

KUALA LUMPUR: Sapura Cycling Team (TSC) produced a one-two finish on the first day of the National Road Championships in Manong, Perak, today.

Nur Aiman Rosli, 23, emerged victorious in the men's individual time trial, clocking 47:33.244s in the 36.8km route from Manong to Seri Iskandar.

Another TSC rider, Shaiful Adlan Shukri, finished second with 47:58.794s.

Pre-race favourite Nur Aiman Mohd Zariff of Terengganu Cycling Team (TSG), who won the Sea Games gold recently, settled for third place after clocking 48:33.258s.

In the 36.8km women's individual time trial, Siti Nur Adibah Akma Mohd Fuad of Johor A came in first after clocking 55:31.293s.

Perak's Tahira Najmunissa Muhammad Zaid brought some cheer for the home fans by emerging second in 58:59.898s.

Terengganu A cyclist Siti Nur Alia Mansor, who was the favourite to win the event, settled for third place with 59:06.883s.

Perak's Faiz Fakhri Omar created an upset to win the men's Under-23 individual time trial with 47:47.214s.

Faiz's time was better than the second and third-placed riders in the elite class, while favourite Mior Muhammad Hazwan Hamzah of TSG could only finish second with 48:59.980s. Kee Zhe Yie of Terengganu A completed the podium with 49:01.689s.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories