Mior carries Sapura to victory

TEAM Sapura Cycling continued their fine showing at the National Road Cycling Championships by winning the Under-23 men's road race in Perak yesterday.

Sapura's Mior Hazwan Hamzah crossed the line in Manong in three hours, 55 minutes and 59 seconds (165.2km).

Terengganu A's Kee Zhe Yie and Perak's Faiz Fakhri Omar (both +2:48s) came in second and third.

Sapura team principal Sayuti Zahit said it was another proud moment for the team.

"There were several breakaways during the race, but Mior made a decisive solo attack with 10km to go and was able to hold on until the finish line," said Sayuti yesterday.

"Mior had only signed with the team in January and has done very well so far.

Sapura earlier two wins came in the individual time trial (Nur Aiman Rosli) and road race (Muhsin Al Redha Misbah).

Perak's Nyo Ci Hui, meanwhile, won the women's junior race in 2:35:20s.

Johor A's Khairunnisa Aleeya Saifulnizam (same time) and Intan Suraya Tokiman (+11s) were second and third.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories