Kedah play FA Cup waiting game

KUALA LUMPUR: Kedah will have to play the waiting game to know who their opponents are in the FA Cup second round.

That is because Terengganu, the FA Cup winners in 2000 and 2011, have yet to play their first round against Negri Sembilan (2003 and 2010 champions) after the match on March 13 was postponed to April 29 due to Covid-19 infections. The FA Cup second round matches are scheduled for May 13-14.

Kedah, who won the FA Cup in 2019, advanced to the second round after beating M3 side Sains FC, 4-0 at the Darulaman Stadium.

Kedah coach Aidil Shahrin Sahak said he's not thinking about their opponents yet.

"For us, all the teams are the same and we expect everyone to give us a tough challenge in the FA Cup."

The second round will see a Klang Valley derby between Selangor and Kuala Lumpur City.

Five-time winners Selangor (1991, 1997, 2001, 2005, 2009) were held to a 2-2 draw by three-time champions KL City (1993, 1994, 1999) in the Super League earlier this season.

KL City coach Bojan Hodak said his men will be better prepared for round two of the Klang Valley derby.

"The Klang Valley derby looks like one of the toughest draws in the second round of the FA Cup.

"It will be different compared to the Super League clash earlier because we are boosted by players who were previously out injured. I'm confident we can give a better challenge in the match," said Hodak.

All eyes will be on sole M3 League representative Perlis United to continue their giant-killing run in the FA Cup after they were drawn against Premier League outfit Kuching City FC.

Perlis United had shown Police the exit at the KL Stadium in the first round last month.

Super League champions and 2016 FA Cup winners Johor Darul Ta'zim will take on fellow Super League side Sarawak United at the Sultan Ibrahim Stadium.

The other draw will see Sabah host Premier League side Kelantan United at the Likas Stadium, and Melaka United taking on Petaling Jaya City at the Hang Jebat Stadium.

The Northern derby will see Perak FC (1990 and 2004 champions) hosting Penang FC (2002 champions), and Sri Pahang (2006, 2014, 2018 winners) taking on FAM-MSN Project Squad at the Darul Makmur Stadium.

FA Cup second round

KL City v Selangor, Terengganu/Negri Sembilan v Kedah,

Sabah v Kelantan Utd, Melaka Utd v PJ City, JDT v Sarawak United, Perlis Utd v Kuching City, Perak v Penang, Sri Pahang v FAM-MSN Squad

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories