Whitney wins WSF Satellite opener

KUALA LUMPUR: Whitney Isabelle Wilson, who turned professional earlier this month, defeated Shalini Muriges 11-3, 11-9, 11-4 in the first round of the WSF Satellite No. 1 tournament at Royal Sungei Ujong Club in Seremban today.

The 15-year-old from Penang, who helped Malaysia win the Asian Junior girls team title in Chennai last week, will face Choo Yi Jie in the second round tomorrow.

However, Whitney, who arrived from India on Monday, was not too pleased with her match against Shalini.

"I struggled to beat her. It could be due to the court. But I hope to play much better against Yi Jie for a place in the quarter-finals.

"I am likely to face Egyptian Mona Tamer in the last eight, I have beaten her before. Although this is my first PSA tournament, I have set a target to reach the semi-finals," said Whitney.

Doyce Lee, who also played in the Asian junior meet in Chennai, received a bye in the first round, and will face joint fifth seed Au Yeong Wai Iynn in the second round tomorrow.

Puteri Raina Zahirah Mior Ahmad Nazril eliminated H. Haridharan 11-4, 11-4, 11-3, and will face top seed Wong Heng Wai in the second round.

In the men's category, unseeded M. Nickhileshwar upset joint ninth seed Ronan King 11-2, 11-4, 11-1 in the first round. But in the second round, Nickhileshwar went down 2-11, 7-11, 4-11 to Harith Danial Jefri.

RESULTS (Malaysians unless stated)


First round: Lee Jong Hyuek (Kor) bt Oon Jayden 6-11, 11-3, 11-5, 11-7; R. Kuhan bt T. Daarvish 11-6, 6-11, 11-5, 3-11, 11-9; Shauqi Haliim (Egy) bt L. Kuhen walkover; Yassin Tamer Raafat (Egy) bt Awais Ilyas (Egy) 11-9, 11-4, 11-5; Low Wa Sern bt Hazim Mukhizam 11-1, 11-4, 11-5; K. Sunil bt Lee Won Gi 11-9, 11-5, 11-3; Seung Yong Yeo bt Jia Rong 11-6, 11-4, 6-11, 11-8; Fayyad Wajdi bt T. Aniessh 11-0, 11-1, 11-2; Veroon Heng bt Qasim Noorani 11-5, 11-3, 11-7; Fawad Hussain bt S. Abinaash 11-3, 11-9, 11-5; M. Nickhileshwar bt Ronan King 11-2, 11-4, 11-1; Jeongmin Ryu bt Wong Lee Hong 11-7, 5-11, 11-8, 3-11.

Second round: Harith Danial bt M. Nickhileshwar 11-2, 11-7, 11-4; S. Kumar bt Veroon Heng 11-2, 11-1, 11-4; Low Wa Sern bt Shauqi Halim 11-7, 11-9, 11-1; Min Woo Lee (Kor) bt Lee Jong-hyeok (Kor) 11-7, 11-6, 11-5; Jeongmin Ryu bt Shamiel Haeyzad 11-7, 11-9, 9-11, 11-6; Fayyad Wajdi Hashim (Egy) bt Fawad Hussain (Egy) 11-9, 8-11, 11-7, 11-4; Seung Yong Yoo bt Yassin Tamer (Egy) 11-9, 11-5, 11-7; Amir Amirul Azhar bt R. Kuhen 11-5, 11-3, 11-3.


First round: Puteri Raina Zahirah Mior Ahmad Nazril bt H. Haridharan 11-4, 11-4, 11-3; Mona Tamer bt Rashmika Shre Ragu 11-1, 11-2, 11-2; Whitney Isabelle Wilson bt Shalini Muriges 11-3, 11-9, 11-4; Harleein Tan bt Dalila Damia Hafiz 11-2, 11-2, 11-1; Ain Jun bt Shirjah 11-4, 11-6, 11-0; Dakshayani Thangaraja bt Heshwiny Siva Vijian 11-1, 11-6, 11-6.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories