Close ↓
(File pix) The Sultan of Pahang, Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah Ibni Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah Al Musta’in Billah, is the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong, it was announced today. NSTP/RBO Photo

KUALA LUMPUR: Pahang ruler Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah Sultan Ahmad Shah Al-Musta’in Billah has been chosen as the 16th Yang Di-Pertuan Agong.

Keeper of the Rulers' Seal, Tan Sri Syed Danial Syed Ahmad said in a statement that Al-Sultan Ahmad's five year tenure as Agong will start from Jan 31.

The annoucement came after eight out of the nine Malay rulers convened for a special meeting of the Conference of Rulers to elect the new Agong.

The special meeting, held for one and-half hours at Istana Negara this morning, was mooted after Sultan Muhammad V stepped down from the throne on Jan 6.

The statement said that the Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizuddin Shah would become the Deputy Yang Di-Pertuan Agong.

Close ↓