Welson and Fatehah are Olympians of the Year

December 7, 2017 @ 11:02PM

KUALA LUMPUR: Impressive displays at the Kuala Lumpur Sea Games in August saw swimmer Welson Sim and cyclist Fatehah Mustapha named as the Olympic Council of Malaysia's (OCM) Olympians of the Year today.

Welson claimed the men's award after winning two gold medals, one silver and one bronze at the Sea Games.

The gold medals came in the 200m freestyle and 400m freestyle which saw him renew the Sea Games record.

Fatehah excelled at the National Velodrome track in Nilai where she won four gold in the women's keirin, sprint, time trial and team sprint.

The same ceremony also saw the 2016 winners, badminton star Lee Chong Wei and synchronised diving pair Pandelela Rinong and Cheong Jun Hoong given their awards.

Chong Wei won the award after bagging the silver medal at the 2016 Rio Olympic Games, the third time he finished runner-up at the world's biggest sports event.

Pandelela-Jun Hoong won the silver in the women's 10m platform synchro in Rio.

Ten people were inducted into the OCM Hall of Fame for the batch of 2017 including former Malaysian Cricket Association president Datuk P. Krishnasamy and Johor Cricket Council president Datuk Dr Harjit Singh.

The others are former athletes Annie Choong (athletics) Datuk Wira Gan Boon Leong (bodybuilding), M. C. Kailasapathy, S. Rajalingam, Datuk Dr Amarjit Singh (all cricket), Ng Joo Pong, Hector Conrad Talalla and Omar Saad (all cycling).

There were 12 inductees into the Hall of Fame for the 2016 batch including six weightlifters: Hidayat Hamidon, Toh Fook Hung, Thong Saw Pak, Tan Kim Bee, Chung Kum Weng and K. H. Cheong.

The others were Josephine Mary (athletics), Wong Choong Hann (badminton), Nor Effandy Rosli (cycling), Nurul Huda Baharin (shooting), Kenny Ang and Ben Heng (bowling).

The OCM Women in Sports award went to former Malaysian Netball Association president Datuk Norminshah Sabirin while SportsUnite was the recipient of the IOC Trophy for its junior development programmes through racial unity.

Translated from Harian Metro

Welson claimed the men's award after winning two gold medals, one silver and one bronze at the Sea Games. Pic by NSTP/OSMAN ADNAN