Jay Park was named Artiste of the Year at this year's Korean Hip Hop Awards yesterday.

KUALA LUMPUR: Popular hip hop musician Jay Park was named Artiste of the Year yesterday at this year's Korean Hip Hop Awards.

According to Soompi, the online awards event, hosted by online magazine Hiphople and music portal Hiphopplaya, celebrated the most notable artiste, album and tracks of the past year in the Korean hip hop scene.

This was Park's second consecutive win for the same award. Last year, his album Everything You Wanted was also named R&B Album of the Year.

The 30-year-old Korean American, whose real name is Park Jae-beom, won indirectly as well through musicians under his two record labels, AOMG and H1GHER.

Newbie Woo Won Jae from AOMG received Hip Hop Track of the Year award for his debut single, We Are, which charted really well after its release.

AOMG producer Gray, who worked on We Are, was also the producer for last year's Hip Hop Track of the Year winner, Forever, performed by BewhY.

Another repeat winner was H1GHER's GroovyRoom, who was named Producer of the Year once again.

The other winners were Legit Goons’ Junk Drunk Love which won Hip-hop Album of the Year, Hippy was Gipsy’s Tree for R&B Album of the Year, offonoff’s gold for R&B Song of the Year, DPR Live for New Artist, Samuel Seo and Isle Qim’s Mango for Collaboration of the Year and TFO’s for Underrated Album of the Year.

528 reads

Related Articles

Most Read Stories by