Pix by Asyraf Hamzah.

KUALA LUMPUR: The Dewan Negara this evening approved the motion on Malaysia’s participation in the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP).

The move, which concurred with the Dewan Rakyat’s approval for the motion, paves the way for the government to ink the TPPA come February 4 in New Zealand.

The voice vote, conducted by Senate President Tan Sri Abu Zahar Ujang saw the ‘Yes’ being the loudest among the senators.

Voting took place after International Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed and Minister in Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Abdul Wahid Omar gave their winding-up speech to points raised by senators.

A total of 23 senators took part in the debate which began after Mustapa tabled the motion this morning.

Parliament’s Upper House currently has a complement of 67 senators out of the 70 full membership.

On Wednesday evening, the Dewan Rakyat passed the TPPA motion, which saw 127 MPs voting in favour, with 84 MPs voting against.

Malaysia is one 12 countries that completed the discussion on the TPPA on Oct 5 last year.

It is the only nation which has tabled the treaty before its legislative body for approval to enter the international trade treaty.

The other countries are Australia, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Japan, Mexico, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, the United States and Vietnam. The TPPA is expected to be signed on February 4.

897 reads