Kinabalu National Park is among nine other tourist spots in Sabah to be gazzeted as National Heritage Sites. Pix by LANO LAN.

KINABATANGAN: Ten tourist spots in Sabah will be gazetted National Heritage Sites, says Tourism and Culture Minister, Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz.

They are Batu Tulug Agop Archaeological Site Kinabatangan; Kinabalu National Park; Bukit Tengkorak Archaeological Park Semporna; Marine Park Pulau Sipadan; Maliau Basin; Danum Valley Conservation Area; Sepilok Orang Utan Rehabilitation Centre; Kinabatangan Wildlife Sanctuary; Turtle Island Park; and, Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park.

Mohamed Nazri said the sites would be officially gazetted under the National Heritage Act 2005 as it was important to preserve such places of interest.

"To date, a total of 12 Sabah heritage involving games, clothings, traditional food and dances have been gazetted as national heritage," he said during a visit to Batu Tulug Agop Archaeological Site near here yesterday.

He added that national recognition of the 10 sites was important before they could be nominated as World Heritage Sites under UNESCO.

Mohamed Nazri said the ministry, through the National Heritage Department and the Sabah Government, via the Sabah Parks were in the midst of evaluating Danum Valley, Maliau Basin and Imbak Canyon which had potential for nomination as World Heritage Sites.

On the Batu Tulug Agop Archaeological Site, Mohamed Nazri said the area used to be a burial site where community in the past used log coffins to bury the dead.

He said it was believed there were over 2,000 coffins in the caves of the Kinabatangan Valley.--BERNAMA

439 reads

Related Articles

Most Read Stories by