Close ↓
Goh Jin We wins the gold medal at the 2018 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in Buenos Aires, Argentina. - NSTP/OWEE AH CHUN.

KUALA LUMPUR: The BA of Malaysia (BAM) are now slowly reaping the rewards of their investment in young and upcoming players.

This following the success of national women’s singles player, Goh Jin Wei, 18, who beat the odds to win gold at the 2018 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) in Buenos Aires, Argentina earlier today (Saturday).

Just last week, fellow young and upcoming national men’s singles player Lee Zii Jia, 202, also did the nation proud when he recorded the biggest achievement of his career to date by winning the Taiwan Open.

BAM president, Datuk Seri Norza Zakaria said that he is very proud of the remarkable progress and performance of Jin Wei who made history at the YOG by winning the first gold medal for the Malaysian contingent.

“History was made early this morning (Saturday morning) and I am very proud of Jin Wei for her extraordinary performance.

“Jin Wei and Zii Jia’s wins just goes to show that BAM’s efforts of investing in the development of young talent is beginning to bear fruit in such a welcome, positive manner.

“It must be pointed out that Jin Wei is also the first Malaysian shuttler to win the World Junior Championship and a gold medal at the Youth Olympic Games.

“I am confident that such a success will inspire her to go all the way to win gold at the Olympic Games and as many tournaments and championships on the international stage,” said Norza.

Going into the women’s singles badminton event at the YOG as the third seed, Jin Wei did good to bring glory for the country when she upset second seed Wang Zhiyi of China, 16-21, 21-13, 21-18 in the final that took place in Technopolis earlier today (Saturday).

Zii Jia on the other hand won the men’s singles final at the Taiwan Open when he fought hard to defeat Riichi Takeshita 21-17, 16-21, 21-11.

Zii Jia’s win puts a welcome end to a 14-year drought for Malaysian shuttlers at the Taiwan Open where Lee Chong Wei was the last Malaysian to win the tournament back in 2004.

Close ↓