Malaysia Airlines signs codeshare pact with India's IndiGo

KUALA LUMPUR: Malaysia Airlines Bhd has signed a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with IndiGo, India's leading airline for a codeshare partnership and mutual cooperation agreement. 

The agreement will enable both carriers to provide customers with more options and flexibility for seamless travels between Malaysia and India.

Malaysia Aviation Group (MAG) group managing director Datuk Captain Izham Ismail said with India being its largest international market, the MoU will widen its reach beyond the nine hubs it currently operates within India.

Izham said the collaboration underscores its ongoing commitment to providing diverse travel options and flexibility to this growing aviation market, with a primary focus on enhancing the customer journey. 

"We look forward to fostering cultural exchange and making travel more accessible for both Malaysia Airlines and IndiGo passengers as we extend our inimitable Malaysian Hospitality to ensure a warm and welcoming experience for all our guests," he said in a statement. 

Through this cooperation, Malaysia Airlines will be able to strengthen its connectivity into India as the marketing carrier on IndiGo operated flights, while IndiGo customers get to explore more Southeast Asia destinations through Malaysia Airlines' extensive network.

This reciprocal arrangement will allow both carriers to provide seamless connections to their customers, besides enabling them to enjoy an integrated travel itinerary among other facilities.

IndiGo chief executive officer Pieter Elbers said the partnership will not only offer seamless travel experience between India and Malaysia, but also enhance international trade opportunities by improving accessibility. 

"This codeshare is in line with our vision to provide access to an unparalleled network, while delivering on our promise of providing on-time, affordable, courteous, and hassle-free travel experiences," said Elbers. 

Malaysia Airlines currently operates 71 weekly flights to nine key hubs in India including New Delhi, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Chennai, Hyderabad, Kochi, Ahmedabad, Amritsar and Trivandrum.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories