Prasarana instructed to ensure smooth journey for affected commuters due to Kelana Jaya line breakdown

KUALA LUMPUR: The operator of the Light Rail Transit (LRT), Prasarana Malaysia Bhd (Prasarana), has been directed to ensure a smooth journey for affected commuters following the breakdown of the Kelana Jaya services.

Caretaker Transport Minister Datuk Dr Wee Ka Siong said he is monitoring updates relating to the closure of 16 stations at the Kelana Jaya line.

"I have instructed Prasarana to ensure a smooth journey for the affected passengers during this period.

"As of this morning, the situation at most affected stations during peak hour, such as Masjid Jamek was under control," he said in a statement through Facebook.

A total of 16 stations along the Kelana Jaya line have been closed and suspended from operating from Nov 9 until Nov 15, after the LRT ATC system malfunction was detected.

Among the LRT stations involved include Kelana Jaya; Taman Bahagia; Taman Paramount; Asia Jaya; Taman Jaya; Universiti; Kerinchi; Bangsar; Abdullah Hukum; KL Sentral; Pasar Seni; Masjid Jamek; Dang Wangi; Kampung Baru; KLCC; and Ampang Park.

Wee added that a visit will be conducted at the LRT Kelana Jaya line operation centre (OCC) after the special team from Thales Group Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) from Toronto, Canada arrives.

"I will visit the OCC after the Canada OEM team arrives and does an inspection at the Prasarana OCC.

"Meanwhile, the Singapore team has arrived yesterday. I will get further details relating to the issue after an inspection is done.

"I will also update any information relating to the matter from time to time," he said.

Meanwhile, RapidKL has added another 120 busses this morning to help affected passengers in transit at five stations, including Ara Damansara to Pasar Seni; Ara Damansara to Kelana Jaya; Kelana Jaya to Pasar Seni; Pasar Seni to Masjid Jamek; and Masjid Jamek to Dato' Keramat.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories