New Zealand, Pakistan, South Korea are the early birds

KUALA LUMPUR: New Zealand, Pakistan and South Korea have confirmed participation in the six-nation Sultan Azlan Shah (SAS) Cup in Ipoh from May 4-11

Perak Hockey Association president Datuk Mohd Sayuti Samat said 12 countries were invited for the SAS Cup, and the closing date was Jan 26. But only New Zealand, Pakistan and South Korea have confirmed their participation.

"We are interested to have Asian Games champions India. We will wait until the end of this month to see if any other country is interested to compete in the tournament.

"Canada were not invited but they are keen to play in the SAS Cup."

The countries invited for the SAS Cup are world champions Germany, European champions Netherlands, Oceania champions Australia, Pan American champions Argentina, India, Britain, France, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Korea, Japan and South Africa.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories