Japan crowned champions in Sultan Azlan Shah Cup for first time

IPOH: Japan created history by winning the Sultan Azlan Shah Cup title for the first time here today.

World No. 16 Japan edged No. 15 Pakistan 4-1 in the shootout following a 2-2 draw in regulation time in the final at Azlan Shah Stadium.

Japan raced ahead through Seren Tanaka (12th minute) before Ahmad Ajaz (34th) and Abdul Rehman (37th) replied for Pakistan.

However, the Samurai equalised through Kazumasa Matsumoto (47th) to force a shootout.

In the shootout, Japan's Kosei Kawabe, Ryoma Ooka, Seren Tanaka and Kazumasa Matsumoto netted while Pakistan failed to score from their opening two attempts.

Ammad Butt scored for Pakistan.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories