Madani government to continue combating corruption, says PM

KUALA LUMPUR: Eradicating corruption, combating abuse of power and preventing leakages will remain priorities of the unity government.

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim said these priorities have always been an integral part in the government's efforts to develop the country.

He said good governance is the foundation and core of his federal administration, which has started to produce positive outcomes not only in Malaysia's development but also in restoring confidence among foreign investors.

The unity government's all-out-war against corruption, said Anwar, will be strengthened and intensified with the appointment of five people, including Senate president Tan Sri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar to the Special Committee on Corruption (SCC) members.

"As are all aware, good governance is the core of the Madani government. That is why, the federal administration under my leadership will continue to battle corruption.

"And there have been slight achievements (in the unity government's effort to battle corruption). This is an important factor to evaluate the performance of the leaders in this government.

"It has been a year since we administered the country and I have not heard or received a protest or any expose of wrongdoings and corruption being exposed (on the cabinet membrs)," Anwar told reporters after he made a surprise visit during the second day of the Madani Government One-Year celebration at the Bukit Jalil National Stadium here today.

Anwar said this when he was commenting on the appointment of new SCC members, which is being chaired by Wan Junaidi.

Apart from Wan Junaidi, also appointed into the SCC are four members of parliament. They are Paya Besar MP Datuk Mohd Shahar Abdullah, Mohamad Shafizan Kepli (Batang Lupar), Lo Su Fui (Tawau) and Young Syefura Othman (Bentong).

They were appointed by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah for a period of three years, effective from Oct 9 until Oct 8, 2026.

The appointment was made on the advice of the prime minister, in accordance with Section 14 of the MACC Act 2009.

In total, there are seven SCC members. The remaining two members are Senator Md Nasir Hashim and Pasir Gudang MP Hassan Abdul Karim.

The SCC is responsible to advise the prime minister on various aspects regarding corruption issues in the country.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories