King, Queen attend Parade of Thanks

KUALA LUMPUR: Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah and Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah graced the Parade of Thanks to His Majesty the Yang di-Pertuan Agong XVI at the Army Square in Sungai Besi Camp here today.

The ceremony symbolises the armed forces' appreciation to the King, who is the Supreme Commander of the armed forces and Tunku Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah at the end of their official five-year tenure as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong and Raja Permaisuri Agong from 2019 to 2024.

The ceremony was held in three stages, which began from the departure of the Royals at Istana Negara heading to theSungai Besi Camp.

The second stage was the arrival at the Sungai Besi Camp where the royal couple were greeted with the "Hormat Diraja" and followed by the national anthem.

An overhead flypast was performed by five helicopters belonging to the armed forces bearing the Jalur Gemilang, armed forces, Army, Royal Malaysian Navy (RMN), and Royal Malaysian Air Force (RMAF) flags headed by RMAF Squadron Number 10 Major Ahmad Farhan Ahmad, accompanied by a 21-artillery salute.

His Majesty inspected the guard of honour on an inspection vehicle.

A special performance was also presented by one officer and 306 personnel from other ranks including slow march, march-past in different formations, poetry recital, presentation of montage video, and marching out.

His Majesty also delivered the Royal Message (Titah Diraja) before the recital of the doa.

The third phase was the departure to Wisma Perwira Tentera Darat for dining with the armed forces personnel before a sending off on a horse carriage with armed personnel lining the street as a symbol of respect to the Majesties.

Also present were The Regent of Pahang, Tengku Hassanal Ibrahim Alam Shah Al-Sultan Abdullah, Defence Minister Datuk Seri Khaled Nordin, and Armed Forces chief General Tan Sri Mohammad Ab Rahman.

Al-Sultan Abdullah's tenure as the 16th Yang di-Pertuan Agong ends on Jan 30 and he will be succeeded by the Sultan of Johor Sultan Ibrahim Almarhum Sultan Iskandar.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories