Selangor Sultan presents appointment letters to Selangor Fatwa committee members

SHAH ALAM: Sultan of Selangor Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah today presented letters of appointment to 14 members of the Selangor Fatwa Committee for the 2024 - 2026 term.

Selangor Islamic Religious Council (Mais) chairman Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Mohd Yusof said the appointment was made according to subsection 46 (1) of the Islamic Religious Administration Enactment (State of Selangor) 2003 or EPAINS.

The Sultan Selangor, said Abdul Aziz, presented the appointment letters to the Selangor Mufti Associate Professor Datuk Dr Ahnar Opir and his deputy Associate Professor Datuk Dr Miszairi Sitris, who have been appointed as the Selangor Fatwa Committee chairman and deputy chairman respectively.

"Among those appointed as members in the committee are Selangor legal advisor Datuk Salim Soib, state Islamic Religious Department director Datuk Mohd Shahzihan Ahmad and Universiti Islam Selangor vice-chancellor Associate Professor Datuk Dr Mohd Farid Ravi Abdullah," Abdul Aziz said in a statement issued after a ceremony at the Istana Bukit Kayangan here today.

Graced by Sultan Sharafuddin, the ceremony was also attended by Tengku Laksamana Selangor, Tengku Sulaiman Shah.

Also in attendance was Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Amirudin Shari.

At the same ceremony, the Sultan of Selangor also presented letters of appointment to the 11 board members for the new term of the Lembaga Zakat Selangor.

Tan Sri Syed Anwar Jamalullail and Tan Sri Ambrin Buang have been appointed as the chairman and deputy chairman of the board for the 2024 - 2026 term.

"The appointment of board members was made with the approval of MAIS and consented by the Sultan of Selangor," Abdul Aziz said.

He added that Datuk Mohd Shukor Shabudin has been appointed as the permanent panel member of the Syariah Appeal Court Judges while Mohd Zakian Dio was appointed as the Selangor Syariah High Court judge.

Sultan Sharafuddin, said Abdul Aziz, also presented the letters of appointment to four members of MAIS for the 2023-2026 term, who were unable to attend the ceremony held in December last year.

The four are Selangor state secretary Datuk Haris Kasim; Datin Paduka Norazlina Zakaria; Professor Dr Khadijah Mohd Khambali@Hambali and Datuk Prof Madya Dr Mohd Farid Ravi Abdullah.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories