Sultan Selangor Cup makes grand comeback at iconic Merdeka Stadium

SHAH ALAM: The prestigious Sultan Selangor Cup (TSSC) will make a grand comeback after a four-year hiatus due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

The 20th edition, featuring the selected teams from Selangor and Singapore, will take place on Aug 17, next year, at the historic Merdeka Stadium in Kuala Lumpur.

A brainchild of the Sultan of Selangor, Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah, the tournament includes the prestigious TSSC trophy and RM80,000 cash prize.

A veteran match between both teams will take place as the curtain raiser.

TSSC chairman and manager Tan Sri Abd Karim Munisar chaired the first working committee meeting at a leading hotel here on Monday.

According to Karim, the Merdeka Stadium was chosen as the venue due to its historical significance and to celebrate the rivalry between Selangor and Singapore, who were fierce rivals in the past.

The other reason is that the Shah Alam Stadium is still under renovation and will not be ready in time.

"Merdeka Stadium is not only historic but many of Selangor's former greats had played in that venue.

"Some of the most memorable matches in the history of Malaysian football were played in that stadium.

"Of course the stadium cannot fit as many people as other bigger stadiums, but that is not the main highlight of the TSSC. We want to celebrate the rivalry between Singapore and Selangor.

"The Sultan of Selangor made a special request for the tournament to be held at the Merdeka Stadium.

"The eagerly awaited TSSC will also feature other entertainment, which we will be announced soon," said Karim, who confirmed that he has already spoken to FA of Malaysia (FAM) president Datuk Hamidin Amin, Malaysian Football League (MFL) chief executive officer Datuk Stuart Ramalingam and the Football Association of Singapore (FAS) to ensure the date does not clash with any other major event.

The last TSSC was held in 2019, where Selangor defeated Singapore 1-0.

Selangor have won the TSSC Cup nine times (2001, 2003, 2005, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2018, and 2019), while Singapore have claimed the title seven times (2006, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2016, and 2017).

The 2004 edition saw both teams declared joint champions, while the 2015 edition was cancelled due to haze.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories