More Bersatu MPs will declare support for Anwar, says Zahid

KUALA LUMPUR: Umno is expecting more Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu) lawmakers to follow suit in declaring support towards Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

Its president Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi said the support given by opposition members of parliament (MP) towards the prime minister must be seen positively.

He, however, said Umno divisions must not be 'too complacent' as most of Bersatu members who declare their support towards Anwar were former Umno members.

"We expect that there may be more (who will declare) support for the prime minister and we should see the support given positively.

"However, as a political party (Umno), most of them (Bersatu members) were former Umno members, hence, Umno divisions must not be too comfortable with the support given by these MPs.

"Even though they are helping to support the prime minister, Umno as a political entity, must strengthen the grassroots influence to regain voters and public support at the respective constituencies," he said when met by reporters at a programme in Parliament, today.

Zahid said this in response to the statement made by Umno Youth chief Dr Akmal Saleh who claimed the Bersatu members as 'political frogs' over their declaration of support towards Anwar.

Dr Akmal reportedly warned the government to be careful with the support given to ensure the parliament reformation agenda could be achieved.

Meanwhile, Zahid who is also Deputy Prime Minister said the party will discuss internally if there are any of opposition MPs want to appeal to return to Umno.

"We have not considered that at the moment and we will discuss such matters (if it happens) with the division leaders to determine the direction."

On claims by former Umno supreme council member Datuk Seri Shahidan Kassim that support given by the MPs towards Anwar contained corruption elements, Zahid said: "Prove that there are elements of corruption."

Four Bersatu MPs — Zahari Kechik (Jeli), Mohd Azizi Abu Naim (Gua Musang), Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan) and Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar) — declared their support for the Madani government.

The four MPs declared their support on the basis of receiving allocations to prioritise the well-being of their constituents.

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories