Jeli MP who declared support for PM says his priority is welfare of constituents

KOTA BARU: Zahari Kechik, the second Member of Parliament from Kelantan who declared support for the Madani government on Nov 8, said his priority right now is the welfare of his constituents.

The Jeli MP said as MP, he would ensure the best service for his people in Jeli.

"I do not want to comment further as l dislike controversy. I do not mind what people says about me as the important thing right now is to serve my constituents," he told New Straits Times.

Zahari, who is the youngest brother to former Bukit Bunga assemblyman Datuk Mohd Adhan said he would leave his fate to God.

"Only Allah know what is my hearts...and the reason for me to made such decision. My responsibility to my people is above all else," he said.

On Nov 8, Zahari in a statement said that he is shifting his support from the Perikatan Nasional-led Opposition to the Madani government for the sake of development and progress of his Parliamentary constituency.

Zahari said he realised that the people must be prioritised and the development must be continued without any compromise in these challenging times.

However, he said he would remain loyal and stay as a member of Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu).

Zahari added that his support for Anwar will remain until the next general election and that his shift of allegiance was not made under any duress or pressure from anyone.

In the last 15th General Election, Zahari won the Jeli parliamentary constituency with 27,072 votes against three other candidates.

The three were Norwahida Patuan of Barisan Nasional who obtained 14,608 votes; Md Radzi Wahabd of PKR (1,140 votes) and Muhammad Daud Mat of Putra (133).

Zahari announced the decision less than 24 hours after Gua Musang MP Mohd Azizi Abu Naim declared his support for the Madani government.

Azizi, when pledging his support to Anwar, declared that he would continue to be a member of Bersatu and was willing to face the repercussions of his actions.

The two were among four MPs from Bersatu who decided to support Prime Minister's administration recently.

The other two were Datuk Suhaili Abdul Rahman (Labuan) and Datuk Iskandar Dzulkarnain Abdul Khalid (Kuala Kangsar).

Most Popular
Related Article
Says Stories